![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
- - ks's the green tree Python Forum - chondro forum - moreliapythons.com - ssnakess.com - chondroweb.nl - constrictors.unlimited gtp forum - - - MVF Chatroom
|
| Author | Comment | ||
|---|---|---|---|
ScubaTim |
Stolen For Sale!?!?! |
Lead | |
|
I'm not sure what i can do about this so i'm turning to the forums. Apparently someone has used my a video of mine from youtube in and ad on
kingsnake.com. I was checking the statistics feature on my video when i noticed that someone had linked my video on the kingsnake market. The ad has been
removed but i'm curious as to who has been using it. i have a few questions for them. I know the link will say ad removed but i'm going to paste it
in case someone sees something on there that i don't. Surely no body would would claim that the snakes in the video were for sale to scam someone WOULD
THEY? I'm am racking my mind as to what this ad said. http://market.kingsnake.com/detail.php?cat=8&de=585940
Tim C.
|
|||
bsharrah |
|||
|
Tim,
What exactly did the video show? Since it is your video, can you post the youtube link? What did the ad claim? Bart |
|||
ScubaTim |
|||
|
I'm not sure what was in the ad, just that the video was linked to the ad!� The video is just of various balls i just
picked up.
Tim C.
Last Edited By: ScubaTim
06/22/08 10:38:14.
Edited 1 times.
|
|||
bsharrah |
|||
|
Based on what I have seen on other forums, someone probably was trying to claim the animals as their own but was quickly caught. Not too smart linking it
to someone else's Youtube account. That would be like linking a person's Photobucket album to the ad instead of just using the pic. Easily traced
back to who it belonged to. There is probably very little you can do at this point to find out who did it and very little you could do to the person if you
did find out. Youtube allows you to post comments under the videos. My advice would be to post a comment letting others know that the video was being used in
a classified ad without your permission, then lock the comments section so the comment doesn't fall to another page (hope I am making sense). You may also
want to contact KS and send them the link. They may be able to figure out who posted it since it may have been a mod that removed it. I doubt they will tell
you anything and will probably handle it internally if the user is identified. Its interesting that they attempted this on KS since you have to register and
pay a fee to post ads. I also do not want to rule out that there may be a legitimate reason for what happened. They may have acknowledged in the ad that the
video was not thiers. I may be wrong, but once it is posted on Youtube, it becomes available for public use, assuming it is linked to Youtube. Let us know if
you find out anything else.
|
|||
ScubaTim |
|||
|
In no way am i trying to say that someone can't link to my video. I'm just concerned that it is being used to scam someone. I like your idea about
posting a comment below, i will be sure to do so.
Tim C.
|
|||
ScubaTim |
|||
|
The following was the response from KS:
Dear Sir, He is not currently using your video. It doesn't appear that he was claiming the animal as his. However, we do require our users to have permission if they photo, video, etc. they are using is not theirs. We will try to keep an eye on the situation, but if you find it is being used again, please let us know. I guess there is no harm no foul. I don't want to seem like an up tight A*hole but i just makes me uneasy to see my animals in someone else's AD. A forum or something along those lines is fine that is what i make them for but not an ad. I would like more opinions on this. Am I being A*holeish?
Tim C.
|
|||
Auston Horst |
|||
|
I, as a reptile buyer, and rather compusively I might add, appreciate your conern for the welfare of other hobbyists. Thanks.
-Killer Morelia Keeper-
|
|||
Amy Shoemaker |
|||
|
Tim, the same thing happened to me a few years ago. I found an ad on KS using a picture I had taken of a batch of my chondro eggs in an incubator. I contacted
the seller and asked them to remove the pic or at least ask for permission. They removed the pic, but what I didn't realize at the time was they were also
using hatchling pics from Craig Stewert, and Dave and Tracy Barker. After they removed the ad from KS, I found the same ad with the same pics reposted to
several other website ads, including Fauna Classifieds. Needless to say I began a thread on their ads on the BOI warning people of their stolen pics and false
advertising. I think Rich Z removed the ad from the site and revoked their membership.
I don't mind if people use others' pictures as long as it is stated in the ad the pictures are a representation of the animals available and not the actual animals. I think credit should also be given to those that own the pic. It is always best to call these people out on their scams. It is hard enough trying to recruit new people into chondros already. I probably wouldn't have been so nice about your situation. Brandon(too lazy to sign in under my name so I use my wife's old one) Osborne |
|||
ScubaTim |
|||
|
That is exactly what i'm afraid of!
Tim C.
|
|||